If you or your kids love fairytales, action and fantasy then Land of Stories is just for you.

Written by the Glee actor, Chris Colfer, this is one series which will keep you coming back for more.

LAnd of stories chris colfer

This modern day fairy tale follows the adventures of twins Alex and Conner Bailey.

When the twins find out that the fairy tale book given to them as a birthday gift by their Grandmother is actually a portal between the real and fantasy world they jump right in. What follows is an action packed adventure and a series of encounters with Evil Witches, Trolls, Goblins, Wolves and much much more.

All the fairytale characters like Red Riding Hood, Prince Charming, Mother Goose, the Snow Queen are presented in an astounding way and there are some evil villains to fight too as the series develops over the course of 5 books:

The Wishing Spell (The Land of Stories)

The Land of Stories: An Author’s Odyssey

The Land of Stories: A Grimm Warning

The Land of Stories: Beyond the Kingdoms

The Land of Stories: An Author’s Odyssey

The Land of Stories: Worlds Collide (Pre-Order, Releasing in July 2017)


Colfer also introduces some new fairytale characters which adds more pizzaz to the story. To make it more interesting there are maps and timelines in each book which give the reader an idea of how the story will progress.


Map “The Wishing Spell”


I enjoyed the books and so did my 10 year old, so I can safely say that this series is a fun read for both boys and girls of all ages. My web search revealed the age range for this series is from 9 years to 49 years 🙂

As an adult I will say that I found the writing to be a wee bit childish and it seemed that the editing wasn’t that good either but for my 10 year old it was “Just Perfect”.


Story Timeline in Grimm Warning


Get your kid the first book and if they like it, order the rest of the series. To order the whole set off Amazon click the link below:

The Land of Stories Hardcover Gift Set

 Embark on a thrilling fairytale journey where every adventure is more exciting than the previous one…trust me you won’t be disappointed 🙂




You may also like

Leave a Reply